What Fat Girls Do

Fat women, in the media, are portrayed as concerned with eating all the time. They eat an entire cake and order fishsticks for dessert. They don’t know they’re fat, so they make fools of themselves. They’re also usually stupid and serve as a sidekick to make their good-looking friend look nice and gracious for hanging out with fatties.

It’s true that food is on my mind a lot. Having a gastric bypass, I have to weigh (pun not intended) each intake of food carefully, so I have to think what to eat and what it’ll do to my stomach in the short run, and to my weight in the long run. Since my stomach is very energy-consuming and impacts my mood and general well-being, I have no choice but to think about food very thoroughly and carefully.
But I don’t think “What am I gonna eat next?”. Contrary to popular belief, fat people aren’t always hungry.

I get up in the morning to turn on the computer and work. Breakfast usually consists of fried eggs, carrots, and mushrooms. I work from home, not because I’m too fat to leave the house, but because I signed up with this company believing from-home work would be paradise, and for a while, it was: I could work on my laptop out of coffee shops, I could randomly adopt a dog and integrate it into the family for being home all the time, I could finish my daily quota ahead of time and have fun with friends or on my own while leaving the clock running and making money. It’s a job that requires language skills beyond one’s own mother tongue, and some writing skills. American students are meant to read my abstracts and not notice that an Israeli German wrote them. I make 45 Shekels per hour. Not great, but better than dumpster diving, right?

At some point, when I feel I’ve worked enough to take a break, I’ll take a shower and walk the dog.

When it comes to fat people being stupid, I have no idea where that stereotype comes from. It may not be wise to make yourself fat, but there are circumstances where you cannot really blame the person for getting fat. I’m smarter than a lot of people I know, though I admit I don’t do much with it.

I go to the mall, grocery shopping, or to the movies, I go to clubs and I date, or I take myself out to the beach for a lemon mint. On special occasions, I go to wars and riots – Israel has enough of those to go around – to take pictures and socialize with combatants/riot police. I love playing dodge ball with spooked weaponized horses.

When my wallet allows it, I make donations to our soldiers or other good causes.

When I’m bored, I draw, sometimes I write. I browse funnies and lulz and I torrent massively, which I can admit to because personal piracy is legal in Israel. I go to the flea market, I take long walks, I haggle with merchants, I flirt with hot stuff, I pick up after my dog. I clean up after myself and my pets all the time.

In the evenings, I have diner in front of the TV, try to wash some dishes, and mourn love lost. I fantasize about people and dreams and come up with what to draw next. I skype with my mom. In bed, I try to read as much as possible.

Basically, I’m like everyone else.

3 thoughts on “What Fat Girls Do

  1. What’s ironic, is even when full-figured women ‘make it’ or are accepted in mainstream media, off scream, they are (or are portrayed) to be in a constant fight over their weight. There are health concerns and limitations caused by obesity, but no different than smoking, drinking, unhealthy relationships etc. Women, big, small, short or tall or beautiful through and through. Good for you for debasing the stereotype on your platform.

    • Hoi, sorry voor het late antwoord. Indien dit een gemeende vraag is – de commentaar kwam in mijn spam folder terecht – is het in orde zolang je teruglinkt naar deze blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

